Location of Standards 
511 IAC 13-1-1 (part (e) describes how administrator preparation programs should be approved and standards to be considered, as well as nine (9) additional topics. 511 IAC 15-6-28 addresses educator standards.
Version of ISLLC Standards Referenced by State 
2008 version
Year of Law Passage / Rule Change 
Principal Effectiveness Rubric last updated in August 2012; Assistant Principal Effectiveness Rubric drafted in January 2013; Indiana Content Standards for Educators published in December 2010
Overview of Standards, if different from ISLLC Standards 
The following six standards apply to both building-level and district-level school leaders: Human Capital Management; Instructional Leadership; Personal Behavior; Building Relationships; Culture of Achievement; Organizational, Operational, and Resource Management.
Use of Standards in Evaluation of School Leaders, Preparation Programs, and/or Other Purposes 
The Indiana Content Standards for Educators provide a basis for professional preparation, growth, and accountability. RISE, Indiana's evaluation and development system, provides a Principal Effectiveness Rubric and a draft Assistant Principal Effectiveness Rubric that include specific indicators for each competency listed in the Indiana School Leader--Building Level Educator Standards.
[1] Indiana Department of Education. (2010). Indiana content standards for educators: School leader--building level. Retrieved from [2] RISE Indiana. (2012). Principal effectiveness rubric. Indianapolis, IN: Indiana Department of Education. Retrieved from [3] RISE Indiana. (2013). Assistant principal effectiveness rubric (DRAFT). Retrieved from